Who is Australia's best professional chef?

The Chef of the Year competition sees chef compete against chef and the clock in a test of creativity, culinary knowledge and ingenuity. They have one hour to prepare two signature dishes utilizing sponsors products.

This annual competition attracts entries from professional chefs from around Australia. There is a strict set of criteria, and a team of culinary experts to judge the winner. It is the most highly regarded and competitive professional chef event in the country.

Chef of the Year was held in the middle of the Foodservice Australia exhibition. We had 180 entries from all around Australia. From that amazing group of chefs our judges selected 32 to compete in the live kitchens in Melbourne. That is when the real competition began with three days of tough knock out rounds.

In 2019 the four candidates who met in the Grand Final were Ollie Hansford - The Stokehouse, Michael Cole - Georgie Bass, Tom Brockbank - Hotel Windsor and Josh Pelham - RACV Cape Schanck. Each were given one hour and sponsors ingredients to showcase their two dishes. At the end it was Michael Cole who took the crown and was named Chef of the Year 2019.

For 2019 senior judges were John McFadden, Mark Normoyle, and Deepak Mishra. Guest judges included Sascha Randle, Tom Milligan, Bas Van Uyen, and Daniel Soto. Competition Director is Gary Farrell assisted by Renae Rossitto and Matt Weller.

Click here to see the competitors for 2019

Click here to see the draw and winners for 2019

Chef Of The Year Rules And Some Handy Tips