Bocuse d'Or Australia

The world’s most elite culinary competition

Alex McIntosh wins Bocuse d’Or Australia 2022

Victorian chef Alex McIntosh won the Bocuse d’Or Australia’s coveted ‘Golden Knife’ trophy and the opportunity to represent Australia in the world’s most prestigious culinary competition.

Held recently at Foodservice Australia in Melbourne, the competition saw Alex and his commis chef Sam Heritage, both from Sou’West Brewery in Torquay, compete against three other chef finalists and their assisting Commis Chefs.

Chef Paul Golding from Snooks Catering and Commis Chef Tristan Spain from Vue de Monde won the Silver trophy, while Chef Sweta Baichoo and her Commis Rochelle Kao from Pullman Melbourne on the Park took home Bronze, as did Chef Leslie Chan from Sushi Sushi and Commis Christopher Sdregas from Koi Koi.

Tristan Spain was named ‘Best Commis’ of the competition, an inaugural award in Australia that recognises young talent and the potential to continue competing at an elite level.

The four finalists prepared a lavish fish dish on a plate and an intricate meat dish on a platter, then presented them to a panel of judges headed up by Bocuse d’Or Australia President Tom Milligan. 

For more information email   

2021 Finalists


Clockwise from top left:

Sweta Baichoo – Sous Chef, Pullman Melbourne on the Park, assisted by Rochelle Kao, Pullman Melbourne on the Park

Alex McIntosh – Head Chef, Sou'West Brewery, assisted by Sam Heritage, Sou'West Brewery

Leslie Chan – Head of Food Innovation & Training, Sushi Sushi, assisted by Christopher Sdregas, Koi Koi

Paul Golding – Head Chef, Snooks Catering, assisted by Tristan Spain, Vue de Monde


Luke Croston

George Calombaris

Hilary McNevin

Gabriel Gate

Ambassador, Bocuse d'Or Australia


Head Judge:

Tom Milligan - Technical Director Le Cordon Bleu Australia and President, Bocuse d'Or Australia (pictured centre)


Fish Judges:

Scott Pickett – Head Coach and Bocuse d’Or Australia Chef 2005

Jo Barrett – Future Food System

Deepak Mishra – Hotel Chadstone Melbourne MGallery by Sofitel

Dan Arnold – Restaurant Dan Arnold, Bocuse d’Or Australian Chef 2017


Meat Judges:

Romain Bapst – Bocuse d’Or President 2011-14

Karen Doyle – ACF National President

Andre Smaniotto - Geelong Stadium

Joseph Vargetto -  Mister Bianco, Massie, Bocuse d’Or Australia Chef 2001


Kitchen Judges:

Brad French – Crown Resorts

Dale Lyman – William Angliss/ACF WACS Judge 

Stephen Nairn - Omnia

Bernd Uber – ACF/ WACS Judge