Chef of the Year

Who is Australia's best professional chef?

The Chef of the Year competition sees chef compete against chef and the clock in a test of creativity, culinary knowledge and ingenuity. They have one hour to prepare their best dishes from a mystery box of ingredients.

This annual competition attracts entries from professional chefs from around Australia. There is a strict set of criteria, and a team of culinary experts to judge the winner. It is the most highly regarded and competitive professional chef event in the country. 
2008 winner    John Lanzafame    Hugo's, Sydney
2010 winner
   Soren Lascelles     Assiette Restaurant, Sydney
2011 winner    Nicolas Poelaert     Embrasse Restaurant, Melbourne
2012 winner    Neil Abrahams       Royal Canberra Golf Club
2013 winner    Neil Abrahams       Royal Canberra Golf Club
2014 winner    Matthew McCool    Altitude Hotel, Shangri La Hotel, Sydney
2015 winner    Chris Malone          Balthazar, Perth
2016 winner    Matt Weller             Royal Canberra Golf Club
2017 winner    Michael Cole          Georgie Bass, Flinders
This year the competition was held at the new convention centre in Sydney, right in the middle of the Foodservice Australia exhibition. There were a record 180 entries from around Australia. From that amazing group of chefs our judges selected 32 to compete in the live kitchens in Sydney. That is when the real competiton began with three days of tough knock out rounds. 
The final four candidates who met in the Grand Final were Andrew Ballard (Simmer Culinary), Naomi Lowry (Culina et Vinum), Jason Martin (Locavore) and Jack Lee (Beansmugglers). Each were given one hour and a mystery box of ingredients. At the end it was Jack Lee who took the crown and has been named Chef of the Year 2018.  
Thank you to senior judges John McFadden, Adam Moore and Nick Whitehouse. Also guest judges Karen Doyle, Julio Azzarello, Steve Belcher, Tony Panetta, Claire Van Vuuren and Peter Howard AM. A very special thank you to Gold Sponsors Unox Australia, Australian Pork and Chobani. Also Silver Sponsors ICC Sydney, Alsco, Robot Coupe, Winterhalter and PFD Foods. Click on the logos to discover more about these leading industry suppliers.
The next Australian Professional Chef of the Year competition will be held from 23-25 June 2019 at the Melbourne Exhibition Centre. Entries open on 1 August. In the meantime if you work in Queensland then have a think about entering the Queensland Chef of the Year which runs from 5-6 August 2018 in Brisbane. Click here for more...
Gold Sponsors:




       Australian Pork






Silver Sponsors







ICC Sydney




PFD Foods

Robot Coupe










Linkedin  twitter  facebook  Instagram
Industry Partners
Industry Partners

Countdown to the show
Exhibitors include

Krio Krush
More exhibitors....